Have fun, create a cool slideshow in minutes
It's so easy, no instructions are required!
It's a jaw-dropping slideshow featuring your pictures and your favourite songs.
Baclayon Church The Church of Immaculada Concepcion in Baclayon is Considered to be One of The Oldest in The Philippines. Construction Began in 1717 Where Some 200 Native Forced Laborers (Obras Pias) Cut And Dragged Coral Blocks From The Sea, Using Only Bamboos in Moving And Lifting The Stones in Position. Millions of White Eggs Were Said to Have Been Used as Cement. The Current Building Was Completed in 1727. In The 19th Century, The Augustinian Recollects Added a New Facade- Pictured Here- And a Number of Stone Buildings That Now Surround The Church. Old Broken Glasses no Longer Can be Replaced. The Colored Panes Locally Available Now Are Different- Pattern is Limited Only to The Basic Quatrefoil "florentine" Patterns And Color Choices Are Only 3: Amber, Green And Blue. The Original Ones Which Date Back to 16th Century Are Thicker And Deeper in Color. the Church of Our Lady of The Immaculate Conception in Baclayon is One of The Oldest Stone Churches in The Philippines And is Located in Bohol, in The Visayas Region. The Construction Was Started by The Jesuits in 1596. as is Happening in Most Grand Historical Structures in The Country, The Church is in Partial Disrepair. ------ The Church of The Our Lady of The Immaculate Concepcion in Baclayon Town is Considered as One of The Best Preserved Jesuit-Built Churches in The Region. it is One of The Best Presevered Jesuit Build Churches in The Region, Although in The 19th Century, The Augustinian Recollects Added a Modern Facade And a Number of Stone Buildings That Now Surround The Church. The First Spanish Missionaries or Doctrineros in The Region, fr. Juan de Torres And fr. Gabriel Sanchez, First Settled in Baclayon in 1595. Shortly After Their Arrival, a Visita Was Erected on The Spot. Although Baclayon Was The First Seat of The Spanish Jesuit Missionaries, Fear of Moro Mauraders Soon Forced Them to Move Their Headquarters More Inland, to Loboc. Only in 1717, Baclayon Became a Parish, And Construction of a New Church Commenced. Some 200 Native Forced Laborers Constructed The Church From Coral Stones, Which They Took From The Sea, Cut Into Square Blocks, And Piled on to Each Other. They Used Bamboo to Move And Lift The Stones in Position, And Used The White of a Million Eggs as to Cement Them Together. The Current Building Was Completed in 1727. The Church Obtained a Large Bell in 1835. in The Baclayon Church is a Dungeon, Which Was Used to Punish Natives Who Violated The Rules of The Roman Catholic Church. Next to The Church is The Old Convent, Which Also Houses a Small Museum With Centuries-Old Religious Relics, Artifacts And Other Antiquities, Dating Back to The 16th Century. Included in The Collection Are an Ivory Statue of The Crucified Christ Looking Towards Heaven; a Statue of The Blessed Virgin, Said to be Presented by Queen Catherine of Aragon; Relics of st. Ignatius of Loyola, Old Gold Embroidered Ecclesiastical Vestments, Books With Carabao Skin Covers, And Librettos of Church Music Written in Latin on Sheep Skins. Here You Can Also Find The Cuadro Paintings Made by The Filipino Painter Liberato Gatchalian in 1859.